BitterSweet Memories. . . Eh

I sit here for the last time. . . this is the house I grew up in. My grandpa gave me melon and strawberries. . . my grandma gave me pop and popicles. It balanced out. I played in the backyard. . . dancing with my walkman pretending all of the blades of grass were screaming fans. I would hang out at the creek. . . the natural path of rock and perfect shady place to be at one with nature. I will miss the place.
I never met my grandfather Charles, but he built the house in 1912 with his own hands. I feel his peaceful presence just being here. The land is beautiful and blessed. There are just so many memories here. . . it is so all overwhelming. I’m still in shock of it all. I just feel like Tom and I are moving out, but we’ll be back next month. However we will not. . . nothing is not going to be the same. . . ever.
I feel bad that it’s all going, but the depths of my soul keep telling that it is time to move on. . . we need to do this. I believe that nothing truly lasts forever. We had a good run, especially since it had gone through four generations, several families, and over 100 years.

Being a hundred years old, and being through a fire, this house needed some repair, but it was always inviting. People always wanted to come over and hang out. (Those who thought they were better than the house, never really lasted long. They were put in their place.)
I believe my Great Grandfather Charles and my Grandpa Frank and my Grandma Pat would have been proud of us for being generous. We helped those who needed, we even allowed friends and family to stay (sometimes rent free) if they needed.

I will miss this place. I know I need to go on. . . make more memories at new places. I know it will hard at times, but Tom will get me through. We found a nice family that we are living with. . . so this will be a new and hopefully a really good experience.

There is just so much in finding a place, packing, and moving. It’s been exhausting. . . draining. It has also been interesting. . . I read some old diaries, and I have realized that I was a total dork when I was younger. . . and that overall I have really grown.

2 thoughts on “BitterSweet Memories. . . Eh

  1. Pingback: The Missing Links. . . | Becky's Personal Blog

  2. Pingback: No Place Like Home | It's my Own World but it's OK. . .

Leave a comment